Hoosier Hills Hoops | Southern Indiana high school basketball

Six squads set for NHSBCA Rising Senior event

July 8, 2013

The first-ever National High School Basketball Coaches Association Rising Senior boys’ event will be held Sunday through Tuesday (July 14-16) at Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis.

The competition will feature teams of boys’ basketball seniors-to-be from six Midwestern states. Plans are for the event to be held each year and grow to include additional states.

Squads representing Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Ohio and Wisconsin are taking part in the first-time event, which includes five rounds of games, a skills competition and off-court sessions for the teams.

Teams will arrive on Sunday (July 14) with activities including an opening ceremony, a guest speaker and a social gathering. Competition is on Monday and Tuesday (July 15 and July 16) with all games at Ben Davis (in the main gym or the multipurpose facility).

The Indiana squad features 12 players — including Indiana commit James Blackmon Jr. of Marion, Trevon Bluiett of Park Tudor and Indiana State commit Bryant McIntosh of Greensburg — who participated as Indiana Junior All-Stars last month. The squad will be coached by Columbus East’s Brent Chitty, who was the Junior All-Star coach.

Standouts from other states include Javairius Amos-Mays, Chris Parrilli and Josias Sanon from Illinois, Reed Tellinghausen, Jalen Jones and Cole Clearman from Iowa, Trey Edwards, Trent Gilbert and Hunter Shelton from Kentucky, Javon Bess, Dakota Mathias and Vince Edwards from Ohio and Jerrell DeBerry, Sean Clarey, Jordan Shea and Turner Moen of Wisconsin.

This year’s event does not fall during an evaluation period for NCAA Division I coaches, but college coaches from lower levels (NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA programs) may attend.

Indiana Basketball Coaches Association executive director Steve Witty said the plan is to move the Rising Senior Event to a July evaluation period in future years. Indianapolis again will host the competition in 2014.

“We had about five other states that were interested and will probably be in it next year,” Witty told The Indianapolis Star. “We have the support of the (National Basketball Coaches Association), and the reason we’re doing it is to bring an educational component to the summer events, as well as leadership and character building.”

Admission is $10 for a one-day pass or $15 for a two-day pass. The on-court action begins at 9 a.m. Monday (July 15) skills competitions. The first round of games follows at 10 a.m. Monday (July 15).


+ Illinois roster: Javairius Amos-Mays, North Chicago; Jaylen Beasley, Bloomington; Michael Bradshaw, Prairie Ridge; Gordon Behr, Wheaton Academy; Johnathan Harrell, Aurora Christian; Chris Parrilli, Geneva; Cordero Parson, Dundee-Crown; John Pruett, Kaneland; Brady Rose, Bloomington; Josias Sanon, Lincolnshire Stevenson. Coaches: Brian Johnson, Kaneland; Lance Huber, Dundee-Crown.

+ Indiana roster: James Blackmon Jr., Marion; Trevon Bluiett, Park Tudor; Aaron Brennan, Guerin Catholic; Grant Evans, Wapahani; Jacob Johnson, Mooresville; D.J. McCall, Fort Wayne Concordia; Bryant McIntosh, Greensburg; Mack Mercer, Plymouth; Tayler Persons, Kokomo; Sean Sellers, Greensburg; P.J. Thompson, Brebeuf Jesuit; Tyler Wideman, Lake Central. Coaches: Brent Chitty, Columbus East; Ryan Bales, Plymouth; Brad Dickey, Tipton.

+ Iowa roster: Sam Brincks, Carroll Kuemper; Cole Clearman, Bettendorf; Nicholas Drucker, Dallas Center-Grimes; Matt Heitman, Williamsburg; Nick Jeffries, Southeast Polk; Jalen Jones, Clinton; Allen Lazard, Urbandale; Jay Schon, Ankeny Centenniel; Ladarius Taylor, Iowa City; Reed Tellinghuisen, East Sac. Coaches: Brad Bjorkgren, Urbandale; Stephen Bender West Branch; Denis Schaefer, Grand View.

+ Kentucky roster: Jamonte Davis, Hopkinsville; Trey Edwards, Hopkinsville; Trent Gilbert, Scott County; Austin Howard, Eastern; B.J. Morse, Ohio County; Quan Poindexter, Hopkinsville; Kaleb Rolly, Muhlenberg County; Nick Ruthsatz, Covington Catholic; Hunter Shelton, Owensboro Apollo; Teddy Ware, Scott County. Coach: Gary Forrest, Oldham County.

+ Ohio roster: Javon Bess, Gahanna Lincoln; Steve Carpenter, Fairfield Christian; Vince Edwards, Middletown; Evan French, Vincent Warren; Ben Haraway, Norwalk; Rosel Hurley, Shaker Heights; Robert Jones, Mansfield; Dakota Mathias, Elida; Teddy Metzen, Newark; Ronnie Rousseau, Cincinnati Winton Woods; Jae’Sean Tate, Pickerton Central; Jeff Thomas, Norwalk; Nic Williams, Sandusky Perkins; Antonio Woods, Cincinnati Summit Country Day. Coaches: Norm Persin, Oak Hill; Jeff Quackenbush, Newark; Pete Liptrap, Pickerington North.

+ Wisconsin roster: Sean Clarey, Brookfield Academy; Jerrell DeBerry, Milwaukee Destiny; Paul Miller, Kettle Moraine; Turner Moen, Lake Mills; Mitchell Oleson, Kettle Moraine; Jordan Perez, Greendale; Adam Pohlman, Neenah; Matt Reader, Appleton West; Jordan Shea, Lodi. Coach: Jerry Petitgoue, Cuba City.


At Ben Davis High School

Monday, July 15

10 a.m. Main Gym: Iowa vs. Ohio
10 a.m. MPA #1: Indiana vs. Illinois
10 a.m. MPA #3: Kentucky vs. Wisconsin

3 p.m. Main Gym: Indiana vs. Wisconsin
3 p.m. MPA #1: Kentucky vs. Ohio
3 p.m. MPA #3: Iowa vs. Illinois

8 p.m. Main Gym: Kentucky vs. Iowa
8 p.m. MPA #1: Wisconsin vs. Illinois
8 p.m. MPA #3: Indiana vs. Ohio

Tuesday, July 16

9:30 a.m. Main Gym: Ohio vs. Wisconsin
9:30 a.m. MPA #1: Indiana vs. Iowa
9:30 a.m. MPA #3: Kentucky vs. Illinois

1:45 p.m. Main Gym: Indiana vs. Kentucky
1:45 p.m. MPA #1: Iowa vs. Wisconsin
1:45 p.m. MPA #3: Ohio vs. Illinois

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized