Hoosier Hills Hoops | Southern Indiana high school basketball

Jackson to Anderson; Martin will play at Rose-Hulman

May 1, 2010

College commitments continue to roll in from Southern Indiana’s Class of 2010.

Silver Creek’s Cody Jackson will attend Anderson University, a NCAA Division III school located in Anderson. Jackson, who attracted interest from a handful of small-college programs, will join the Ravens after the school’s first-ever appearance last season in the national tournament.

New Albany senior Jordy Martin has also announced his college decision. The crafty point guard will attend Rose-Hulman, a NCAA Division III school located in Terre Haute.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Banet, Laswell announce college choices

April 20, 2010

Two Southern Indiana stars announced their college intentions today.

Floyd Central senior Cody Banet will attend Indiana University East, located in Richmond. IU East, an NAIA  Division II competitor, plays in the Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, the same conference as IU Southeast.

Banet chose IU East over Ashland, Earlham, Hanover and St. Joseph’s (Ind.), according to the player’s family.

Paoli senior Logan Laswell also confirmed his commitment to Lindsey Wilson, an NAIA Division I school located in Columbia, Ky., Ram assistant Kevin Jones told HoosierHillsHoops.com.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Four Southern Indiana players named to Indiana All-Stars

April 15, 2010

Kegan ClarkFour true Southern Indiana players were announced today as 2010 Indianapolis Star Indiana All-Stars.

Bloomington North’s Julian Boatner, Jeffersonville’s Kegan Clark, Bloomington South’s Erik Fromm and New Albany’s Donnie Hale were named among the state’s best, and will face the Kentucky All-Stars in a two-game series June 11 and 12

The June 11 contest will be held at Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., and the teams will meet again on June 12 in Indianapolis at Conseco Fieldhouse. The Indiana All-Stars will also scrimmage groups of junior stars prior to the Indiana-Kentucky series at locations to be announced.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Austin’s Ben Raichel inks with Taylor

April 15, 2010

Ben RaichelTaylor head men’s basketball coach Paul Patterson has announced the signing of 6-1 guard Ben Raichel for the 2010-11 season.

“Ben’s skills will fit well with what we do,” Patterson said. “His ability to handle the ball, shoot the ball and play hard defensively will fit right in.”

The Austin, Ind., native led the Eagles in nine different scoring statistical categories as a senior, including 18.5 points per game and an 87.8% clip from the free throw line, the fifth highest percentage in school history.

Raichel, the school’s all-time leader in three pointers made (174), shot 43.6% from long range this season and strung together 34 consecutive games in which he made at least one three, a streak unmatched in the history of the program. His 1,132 points also puts him ninth on the school’s all-time scoring list.

Behind Raichel’s hot hand Austin finished a combined 33-12 in the last two seasons.

A potential pre-med major, the future Trojan will participate in the East-West All-Star Game in Crawfordsville, Ind., on April 17.

“We are excited about Ben joining our team,” Patterson said. “He is certainly the kind of young man we want to represent our university.”

“I chose Taylor because I feel like it’s the best place for me,” Raichel said. “I think we’ll have a great opportunity to do some great things in the tournament and I hope to come in and contribute any way I can.”

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Five locals named 2010 Indiana Junior All-Stars

March 31, 2010

Bloomington South’s Dee Davis and Washington’s Cody Zeller have been named 2010 Indiana Boys Junior All-Stars core players, Indiana game director Charlie Hall announced yesterday.

The Junior All-Stars will face the Indiana All-Stars in exhibition games June 7 and 9 at sites to be announced.

Matt Carlino (Bloomington South), Jalen Packer (Princeton) and Chris Whitehead (New Albany) were named to the Junior All-Stars’ south team, and will participate with the six core players at the south exhibition.

Click here for the Indianapolis Stars’ story listing the entire Junior All-Stars roster.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Hoosier Hills Conference all-conference team selected

March 30, 2010

Hoosier Hills ConferenceThe 2009-10 Hoosier Hills Conference all-conference team has been released:

First team – A.J. Adams (Jeffersonville); Cody Banet (Floyd Central); Kegan Clark (Jeffersonville); Brandon Codey (Floyd Central); Donnie Hale (New Albany); Evan Maschmeyer (Jeffersonville); Josh McDonald (Columbus East); Alex Prichett (Bedford North Lawrence); Matt Trimnell (Seymour); Chris Whitehead (New Albany).

Coach of the year Jim Shannon (New Albany).

Honorable Mention Drake Coleman (Jeffersonville); Luke Jones (Madison); Braden Knight (Bedford North Lawrence); Dustin Lawson (Jennings County); Donnie Malcomb (Madison); Jordy Martin (New Albany); Jackson Renshaw (Columbus East); Nick Taulbee (Jennings County); Jeffrey Thompson (Floyd Central).

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Page 40 of 51« First...102030...3839404142...50...Last »