Hoosier Hills Hoops | Southern Indiana high school basketball

Hoosier Hills Conference all-conference team selected

March 30, 2010

Hoosier Hills ConferenceThe 2009-10 Hoosier Hills Conference all-conference team has been released:

First team – A.J. Adams (Jeffersonville); Cody Banet (Floyd Central); Kegan Clark (Jeffersonville); Brandon Codey (Floyd Central); Donnie Hale (New Albany); Evan Maschmeyer (Jeffersonville); Josh McDonald (Columbus East); Alex Prichett (Bedford North Lawrence); Matt Trimnell (Seymour); Chris Whitehead (New Albany).

Coach of the year Jim Shannon (New Albany).

Honorable Mention Drake Coleman (Jeffersonville); Luke Jones (Madison); Braden Knight (Bedford North Lawrence); Dustin Lawson (Jennings County); Donnie Malcomb (Madison); Jordy Martin (New Albany); Jackson Renshaw (Columbus East); Nick Taulbee (Jennings County); Jeffrey Thompson (Floyd Central).

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Bradley retires at Silver Creek

March 30, 2010

Silver Creek coach John Bradley announced his retirement from coaching last week, according to this report from the Evening News and Tribune.

Bradley finished his career with a 237-290 mark, including a 2009-10 season that featured a 9-12 record and a Silver Creek Holiday Tournament championship.

“After 24 years — and having gotten both of my kids through high school — it’s time to step away,” Bradley said in a telephone interview on Friday.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Solid field announced for 2010 Hall of Fame Classic

March 30, 2010

Hall of Fame ClassicA strong four-team field set to include two perennial Southern Indiana powers was announced yesterday as participants in the 2010 City Securities Hall of Fame Classic boys’ tournament to be held at New Castle.

2010 Class 3-A champion Washington and 2009 4-A title winner Bloomington South will join Center Grove and Warsaw at the Christmas-time tournament, Indiana Hall of Fame officials said.

On the girls’ side, Jeffersonville was selected to join Brownsburg, Carmel and Evansville Memorial.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Hutchinson out at Christian Academy

March 13, 2010

Joshua Hutchinson is no longer the coach at Christian Academy of Indiana, according to multiple sources. The job was posted earlier this week on the school’s official Web site.

The Warriors finished the 2009-10 season with a 3-19 record; Hutchinson compiled a 10-34 record at the school in two seasons.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Six Southern Indiana players selected as McDonald’s All American Game nominees

January 26, 2010

Six local players have been nominated for the 2010 McDonald’s All American Game, game officials announced today.

Julian Boatner (Bloomington North), Kegan Clark (Jeffersonville), Erik Fromm (Bloomington South), Donnie Hale (New Albany), Trey Hughes (Barr-Reeve) and Taylor Wischmeier (Brownstown) were included in the list of 30 Indiana nominees.

Next, through a series of votes, the nominating committee will narrow the initial list of between 1,500 and 1,800 of the nation’s top seniors to just 24. Final selections will play in the game March 31 in Columbus, Oh.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Austin’s Raichel fielding small-college interest

January 26, 2010

Ben RaichelAustin senior Ben Raichel has been a key cog in the Eagles’ success thus far in the 2009-10 season.

Last week, the 6-foot-1 guard netted his 146th career three-pointer, passing Austin legend Anthony Winchester (145) to set a new school record.

Raichel has also been attracting the attention of a handful of small-college programs, most notably Franklin and Earlham.

Both schools have made the trip to watch Austin in action, and Raichel has a campus visit scheduled next month to the Earlham campus.

→ Discuss this postCategory: Uncategorized

Page 41 of 51« First...102030...3940414243...50...Last »